Archives of Joy

Books

In Archives of Joy: Reflections on Animals and the Nature of Being, French Canadian author Jean-François Beauchemin looks back, around and into the mystic, to great effect. His brief and often breathtaking reflections on creatures he has encountered throughout his life meld into a salve for the troubled, weary or distracted mind and will appeal to fans of Brian Doyle, Ross Gay and Margaret Renkl.

In a one-paragraph essay called “Useful,” Beauchemin writes, “It might be said that I am rummaging around a lot in that great big suitcase of my childhood, but why the devil do we age, if it is not to encounter ourselves once more?” In “A Visitor,” he recounts a spiritual encounter from childhood, when “I had just learned my dog’s life expectancy was only fourteen years.” Immediately after reading this piece, I snapped a picture of it and sent it to a friend who is grieving a beloved pup; that’s the kind of small treasure this book is.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Mourners gather on the Italian coast after at least 60 people killed when migrant sailboat capsized | World News
NASA’s Artemis I SLS-Orion Spacecraft Could Be Launched on September 23, Senior Official Says
Nvidia is little known despite topping $3 trillion in market cap
Book review of Blame the Stars by Heather Buchanan
Israel warns of prospect of ‘all-out war’ after Hezbollah publishes video of military, civilian sites